As selected by the 47 members of the 2016 U.S. Olympic Swimming Team, USA Swimming today announced six team captains, who have qualified for a combined 19 Olympic Games appearances, for the upcoming Rio de Janeiro Olympic Games.

Leading the women’s team will be Cammile Adams (Cypress, Texas/SwimMAC Carolina), Elizabeth Beisel (Saunderstown, R.I./Bluefish Swim Club) and Allison Schmitt (Canton, Mich./North Baltimore Aquatic Club). Beisel and Schmitt are three-time Olympians; Adams is a two-time Olympian.

Serving as men’s captains will be Nathan Adrian (Bremerton, Wash./California Aquatics), Anthony Ervin (Valencia, Calif./SwimMAC Carolina/California Aquatics) and Michael Phelps (Baltimore, Md./North Baltimore Aquatic Club). Phelps, the owner of a record 22 Olympic medals, is headed to his fifth Olympic Games, the most for an American male swimmer. Adrian and Ervin are three-time Olympians.

All six are first-time U.S. Olympic Team captains. Team members voted for the captains last night during training camp in San Antonio. The 2016 Olympic Games pool competition opens Aug. 6 in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil.

photo © USA Swimming