Congress passes legislation making Juneteenth a federal holiday

The U.S. House of Representatives passed legislation Wednesday to establish June 19th as Juneteenth National Independence Day, a federal holiday commemorating the end of slavery in the United States.

The 415-14 House vote follows Tuesday’s unanimous approval in the Senate to federally recognize the holiday. All 14 no votes in the House came from Republicans.

Among the members who voted no were Reps. Andy Biggs, R-Ariz., Mo Brooks, R-Ala., Andrew Clyde, R-Ga., Scott DesJarlais, R-Tenn., Paul Gosar, R-Ariz., Ronny Jackson, R-Texas, Doug LaMalfa, R-Calif., Thomas Massie, R-Ky., Tom McClintock, R-Calif., Ralph Norman, R-S.C., Mike Rogers, R-Ala., Matthew M. Rosendale, Sr., R-Mt., Chip Roy, R-Texas, and Thomas Tiffany, R-Wis.

The bill now heads to President Biden’s desk.

June 19th marks the 1865 date that people who were enslaved in Texas were freed under the Emancipation Proclamation.

Like Newport Buzz? We depend on the generosity of readers like you who support us, to help with our mission to keep you informed and entertained with local, independent news and content. We truly appreciate your trust and support!